LibGuides: Sources of National Conflict: Home

Databases

The databases below are accessible using your OES gmail credentials.

World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Tip: Scroll halfway down the landing page to the "Browse Topics" section; "Wars and Conflicts" has many relevant topics.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Tip: Scroll halfway down the landing page, to the " Browse Topics" section; "Conflicts and Diplomacy" has many relevant options.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context via OSLIS This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context supports virtually any curricular need. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop critical thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Exclusive Viewpoint pages bring balance and perspective to every controversy using targeted arguments from recognized subject-matter experts and top journalistic sources.
Gale News This link opens in a new window
Provides access to authoritative, reliable digital content from magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference books appropriate for middle- and high-school students and covers a wide range of subjects, including science, history, and literature.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of early American newspapers from all 50 states published between 1690 and 1922.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Coverage: 1851 - 2017
Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window
Covers the broad expanse of world history from the mid-15th century to the present, featuring thousands of documents, articles, timelines, images, videos, and maps.

Browsing for a Topic

Sometimes deciding on a topic is one of the most daunting parts of research! Browsing is what we do when we're looking for something, we just don't know exactly what that something is. Try some of the tips below when you're not quite sure what you want to research, yet.

Browsing the Issues: Halfway down the landing page of any of Gale's "In Context" databases you will find thematically organized collections of topic pages. Topic pages contain a variety of different resources on a specific subject.
- In Global Issues in Context's "Browse Issues" section, check out "Conflict and Diplomacy."
- In World History In Context's "Browse Topics" section, check out "Wars and Conflict".
- Topic pages are not exhaustive; there are many, many more subjects than there are topic pages in these databases.
- Not all topic pages listed are relevant to your project - if you find something that is interesting but you're not sure if it's an appropriate topic, ask your teacher.

Searching in a database is not quite the same as searching in Google. Below are some tips to maximize your search results.

Databases, unlike Google, are keyword based; if you type a full sentence in the search box, you will probably get some pretty funky results. Instead, think about words or short phrases that describe your topic.
If your first search isn't fruitful, try again! Make lists of synonyms for each keyword to remix if you don't get good search results the first (or second or third) time. Research takes time, so don't give up if at first you aren't successful.
Finding a relevant article can often lead to more resources on your topic. Scroll to the bottom of the page to find similar articles and relevant subject headings to explore. Look at the works cited section, if available, and see if any of those works are accessible. Research success can feel like a chain reaction because finding one good source usually leads to finding more good sources, and those lead to finding even more, and so forth and so on.

Reliable Websites

Council on Foreign Relations

Citation Tools

One of the major benefits of doing your research in our databases is the citations they generate; just click on the "cite" icon on the top toolbar or scroll to the bottom of the page to generate your citation.

MyBib
MyBib is a free Google Chrome add-on that helps you create and organize citations in various formats, including MLA, APA, and Chicago Manual.

How to Use MyBib

Librarian

Erika Jelinek

Email Me

Contact:

503-416-9352