Home - History 8 - Editorials - LibGuides at Oregon Episcopal School

Databases and other OES Online Resources

Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Gale Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Science In Context is an engaging online resource providing contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more in a single search—Global Issues In Context is updated daily and offers 250 different country topic pages and more than 400 Issue pages.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window
Covers the broad expanse of world history from the mid-15th century to the present, featuring thousands of documents, articles, timelines, images, videos, and maps.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context via OSLIS This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context supports virtually any curricular need. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop critical thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Exclusive Viewpoint pages bring balance and perspective to every controversy using targeted arguments from recognized subject-matter experts and top journalistic sources.
World Book Online Reference Center This link opens in a new window
World Book Online is a suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related websites.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
World History In Context reaches back to the ancient world — and forward to today's headlines — to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students.

Podcasts

BBC (selection of podcasts related to Scientific Revolutions)

15 Minute History (Scramble for Africa)

Historical Association (Scramble for Africa)

Historical Association (British India)

Historical Association (collection related to Industrial Revolution)

BBC (Industrial Revolution)

The Guardian (Why is the scientific revolution still controversial?)

BBC (The Scientific Method)

Book in the Library

The Scientific Revolution by Harry Henderson; Lisa Yount
ISBN: 1560062835
Publication Date: 1996-02-01
Describes scientific discoveries that took place between 1550 and 1900, examines the development of the scientific method, and discusses the impact of science on people's views of their world.
Revolutions by Jack A. Goldstone
ISBN: 9780199858507
Publication Date: 2014-02-03
This volume places recent events in Iraq and Afghanistan to Tunisia and Egypt in historical context. It provides a history of revolutions and insurgencies, an introduction to the way social scientists think about the causes and outcomes of revolutions, and an explanation of their significance in historical and political change.
A Timeline of the Colonial World by Charlie Samuels
ISBN: 9781433934957
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Excellent resource for visual learners. Primary source documents help.
In the Jewel in the Crown by Time-Life Books Editors
ISBN: 0783554605
Publication Date: 1999-09-01
Offers a historical look at Britain's occupation of India from 1600 to 1905.
Technology by Daniel R. Headrick
ISBN: 9780195156485
Publication Date: 2009-04-01
Enlivened with many illustrations, Technology offers a fascinating look at the spread of inventions around the world, both as boons for humanity and as weapons of destruction.