8th Grade History - Cold War: Home

Korean War

From the National Archives

NSC-68 and the Korean War - From the U.S. Department of State

Overview of the Korean War and its Legacy - From Stanford University

The Korean War - From Khan Academy

Korean War Overview 

Korean War - From Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History

Korean War, a 'Forgotten' Conflict That Shaped the Modern World - New York Times

Timeline of Korean War - Wilson Center Digital Archives

The Korean War Controversy: An Intelligence Success or Failure? - CIA

Vietnam War

Vietnam War - Wilson Center Digital Archives

The Vietnam War in Hindsight - Brookings Institute

Vietnam War Overview - Khan Academy

Studying the Vietnam War - National Endowment of the Humanities

America's Wars in Vietnam, 1961 - 1975 - Smithsonian Institute

U.S. Involvement in the Vietnam War: The Tet Offensive, 1968 - Department of State

Vietnam War: Draft Resistance - University of Washington Antiwar and Radical History Project

Military Resources: Vietnam War - National Archives

Vietnam War Facts, Costs, and Timelines - The Balance

Vietnam War - Naval History and Heritage Command

Europe

Berlin Wall

Berlin Wall Anniversary (From Time)

25th Anniversary of Fall of Berlin Wall (From CNN)

United States Note to the USSR on Berlin (From Fordham University)

Berlin Wall (From History.com)

Iron Curtain

Various entries on Cold War (From Imperial War Museum)

Lost Borders: Photos of the Iron Curtain (From photographer Brian Rose)

Cold War Origins (From Wilson Center)

Perestroika

Dachas and Glasnot in Evil Empire (From BBC)

Perestroika: A Definition (From The Concise Encyclopedia of Economics)
Russian Posters: 1919-1989 (From Duke University)

Romania

The Situation in Romania - Primary Sources accessed through University of Luxemburg 

The Crack in the Plaster: Crisis in Romania and the Origins of the Cold War - Journal of Modern History, accessed through JSTOR

The Soviet-Romanian Clash Over History, Identity and Dominion - Wilson Center

Romania Profile: Timeline - BBC

"It was impossible to have a revolution in Romania. So it had to be staged." - The Guardian

Marshall Tito and Yugoslavia

Yugoslavia: 1918-2003 (From BBC)

Yugoslavia Consigned to History (From BBC)

The Breakup of Yugoslavia (From Department of State)

The Legacy of Yugoslavia's Grand Marshall Tito (From BBC)

Timeline of Tito (From Northern Virginia Community College)

The Olympics (1956, 1980, 1984)

Hungary (From Fact Monster)

Hungarian Revolution: 1956 (From Eyewitness to History)

The Sinai Campaign (From My Jewish Learning)

The Sinai Suez Campaign (From Jewish Virtual Library)

1956 Hungarian Revolution as Depicted in Newsreels (From Archive.org)

Hungarian Uprising (From BBC)

Independent Israel and the Suez Canal (From British National Archives)
 

Sinai Campaign (From State of Israel)

Africa

Suez Canal War of 1956

https://history.state.gov/milestones/1953-1960/suez

http://news.bbc.co.uk/onthisday/hi/dates/stories/july/26/newsid_2701000/2701603.stm

http://www.npr.org/templates/transcript/transcript.php?storyId=6397268

http://novaonline.nvcc.edu/eli/evans/his135/Events/Suez56.htm

http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/british/modern/suez_01.shtml

Lumumba vs Mobutu in the Congo

http://www.blackpast.org/gah/congo-civil-war-1960-1964

http://news.bbc.co.uk/onthisday/hi/dates/stories/february/13/newsid_2541000/2541053.stm

Apartheid in South Africa

http://overcomingapartheid.msu.edu/index.php

http://news.bbc.co.uk/onthisday/hi/dates/stories/february/2/newsid_2524000/2524997.stm

http://www-cs-students.stanford.edu/~cale/cs201/apartheid.hist.html

http://news.bbc.co.uk/onthisday/hi/dates/stories/december/10/newsid_3223000/3223074.stm

http://www.ted.com/speakers/vusi_mahlasela

Angola:

https://www.hrw.org/africa/angola

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-13036732

http://globaledge.msu.edu/countries/angola/history/

http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/6619.htm

Somalia

Cold War Origins of the Somalia Crisis and Control of the Indian Ocean - Global Policy Forum

For many in the U.S., Somalia is view as a powerful symbol of United Nations peacekeeping failure - Foreign Policy in Focus

How Somalia was left in the cold - New York Times archives

The Horn of Africa and SALT II - Department of State

The Horn of Africa: U.S. Foreign Policy in an Altered Cold War Environment - Middle East Journal accessed through JSTOR

The Soviet Union in the Horn of Africa - Wilson Center Digital Archives

Proxy Wars During the Cold War: Africa - Atomic Heritage Foundation

Somalia: The Forgotten Story - Al Jazeera World 

Somalia: Timeline - BBC 

Major General Siad Barre - Harvard Divinity School Religious Literacy Project  

U.S Relations with Somalia - U.S. Department of State 

Somalia: Counting the cost of anarchy - BBC

Assessing the consequences of the failed state of Somalia - Joint hearing before the subcommittee of Africa, Global Health, and Human Rights

Asia

Pol Pot:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/historic_figures/pot_pol.shtml

http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/amex/vietnam/whos/whos-pol_pot.html

http://content.time.com/time/photogallery/0,29307,1948150,00.html (photos from Cambodia during Pol Pot’s regime)

http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=4753989

http://www.pbs.org/frontlineworld/stories/cambodia/tl03.html

Indian-Pakistan Tensions:

http://www.theguardian.com/world/interactive/2012/sep/06/india-pakistan-partition-interactive

http://carnegieendowment.org/2014/06/04/india-s-nuclear-doctrine-stirrings-of-change

http://www.nti.org/gsn/article/pakistani-leader-said-intent-developing-new-nuclear-understanding-india/

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/6926057.stm

http://www.pakun.org/kashmir/history.php

http://www.pbs.org/frontlineworld/flash_point/kashmir/

http://www.nti.org/learn/countries/pakistan/nuclear/

China 

Interview at Tiananmen Square with Chai Ling - Asia for Educators Columbia University

Timeline: What led to the Tiananmen Square massacre - Frontline

Beijing Spring: An Eyewitness Account - Dissent Magazine

Tiananmen Square, 1989 - Department of State 

Human Rights in China - Brookings Institute

China Profile - BBC 

Liu Xiaobo Facts - Nobel Institute

10 Historically Significant Protests - LiveScience

Japan

Reinterpreting the Japanese Economic Miracle - Harvard Business Review 

Learning from the Japanese Economy - Stanford

Occupation and Reconstruction of Japan, 1945 - 52 - Department of State 

Japan's Economic Miracle: Underlying Factors and Strategies for Growth - Lehigh University 

What was the Japanese Economic Miracle? - WorldAtlas

Japanese Post-War Economic Miracle - World Heritage Encyclopedia accessed through Project Gutenberg 

Japan's Shrinking Economy - Brookings Institute

Economy and Trade: Japan Fact Sheet - Columbia University East Asian Curriculum Project 

Latin America

Why You Need to Know About Guatemala's Civil War (From PRI)

Understanding the Iran-Contra Affairs: the Sandinistas (From Brown University)

Nicaragua: Revolution and Restoration (From Brookings Institute)

General Cold War Websites 

• The Miller Center Primary Sources for the Cold War 

  This resource list has been curated by the University of Virginia's Miller Center, and has links to a huge array of different primary source documents relating to the Cold War.
• Wilson Center Digital Archive: Cold War Origings 

  This collection of primary source documents discusses international relations during World War II and the years shortly after. It begins with the Molotov-Ribbentrop Pact signed in 1939 and ends with documents from the 1950’s. The collection contains a wide variety of documents including agreements, memorandums, meeting minutes, cables, letters, diary entries, and military reports from WWII. The documents mainly come from Russian and Bulgarian archives.
• Wilson Center Digital Archive: End of the Cold War 

  This is a collection of primary source documents covering the collapse of the Soviet Union during the late 1980s. The collection contains documents from archives in most of the former Soviet bloc countries. They discuss the changes occurring in Eastern Europe and the Tiananmen Square events in China.
• Library of Congress 

  The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections.
• National Archives: The Cold War 

  The National Archives and Records Administration holds and makes available for research a significant quantity of federal records and presidential materials that document Cold War era activities and concerns of the United States Government. This web page provides links and citations to NARA-prepared or NARA-sponsored sources of information about this Cold War documentation.

The Cold War Museum

Cold War International History Project  (Wilson Center-sponsored) 

Cold War History (with declassified information sponsored by Wilson Center)

NSC-68 (the once-top-secret National Security Council document of April 1950 that set in motion the massive military buildup of the Cold War.the once-top-secret National Security Council document of April 1950 that set in motion the massive military buildup of the Cold War.)

Eisenhower Library Cold War Documents (Documents and photographs)

Ideological Foundations of the Cold War (From the Truman Presidential Library)

Student Voices from the McCarthy Era

The Army-McCarthy Hearings (Recording from the hearing in which Senator McCarthy makes accusations of communist infiltration of the U.S. Army)

Warsaw Pact

Warsaw Treaty Organization, 1955 - Department of State 

What was the Warsaw Pact? - NATO

The Warsaw Pact - Cold War Museum

Timeline of the Cold War - Truman Library

Soviet Military Power - Approved for release from CIA 

The Cold War - JFK Library and Museum

New Evidence on the Building of the Berlin Wall - Wilson Center 

Origins of the Cold War - Smithsonsian

NATO

A Short History of NATO - NATO

North Atlantic Trade Organization (NATO), 1949 - Department of State

NATO's purpose after the Cold War - Brookings Institute

How did NATO survive the Cold War? - NATO

NATO at 70: Lessons from the Cold War - Atlantic Council 

Start of the Cold War - The Berlin airlift and the creation of NATO - Khan Academy

NATO at 50: Did NATO win the Cold War? - Foreign Affairs

NATO's function after the Cold War - Political Science Quarterly accessed from JSTOR

Alliance History and the future of NATO: What the last 500 years of alliance behavior tell us - Brookings Institute

Espionage

Espionage: It Plays an Important Role in the Cold War - New York Times article accessed through CIA

Early Cold War Spies: The Espionage Trials that Shaped American Politics - CIA 

Intelligence, Espionage, and Cold War Origins - Diplomatic History accessed through JSTOR

Cold War espionage paid off -- until it backfired, East German spy records reveal - Science Magazine

Decades After Cold Wars' End, U.S. - Russia Espionage Rivalry Evolves - NPR

Experts' Corner on Espionage (The Cold War Era) - NATO

Espionage - Royal Air Force Museum 

Thirty Years Later, We Still Don't Know Who Betrayed These Spies - Smithsonian Magazine

The Cold War spy technology which we all use - BBC

Cold War Espionage from Space - Peabody Museum, Harvard University

The Billion Dollar Spy: A True Story of Cold War Espionage and Betrayal - Wilson Center 

Spying in Plain Sight: Scientific Diplomacy during the Cold War - Science History Institute

Rocket Science and Russian Spies - American Scientist

Arms Race

Human Radiation Experiment (looks at the history of radiation testing on humans during the Cold War atomic arms race)

Nuclear Proliferation (Timeline of proliferation from the Wilson Center)

Timeline of Peace Action's Involvement in nuclear disarmament

The First Atomic Bomb is Detonated (From PBS)
Strategic Arms Limitations Talks/Treaty I/II - History (From Department of State)
What is Mutual Assured Destruction? (From Project of the Nuclear Age Peace Foundation)

Reykjavik Summit

Reykjavik Summit - Nuclear Threat Initiative 

Reykjavik Summit Retrospective - C-SPAN panel that looks back at the summit (long video)

Strategic Defense Initiative - Atomic Heritage Foundation

Reagan and Gorbachev: The Geneva Summit - Atomic Heritage Foundation

Nuclear Test Ban Treaty and Strategic Arms Limitation

Nuclear Proliferation International History Project (Wilson Center looks at the short history of the world nuclear disarmament movement)

Limited Test Ban Treaty - 1963 (From the Atomic Archive: Funded by National Science Foundation Grant)

Limited Test Ban Treat (From the Department of State)

Treaty Banning Nuclear Weapon Tests in the Atmosphere, in Outer Space, and Under Water (From Department of State)

On This Day: 1979 Leaders Agree Arms Reduction Treaty (From BBC)

The Making of the Limited Test Ban Treaty (From National Security Archive)

Strategic Arms Limitations Talk Treaty (From Nuclear Threat Initiative)

Space Race

Sputnik: The 50th Anniversary (NASA looks at the history of Sputnik)

Space Race (History of Space Race from the National Air and Space Museum)

On This Day: 1961 Soviets Win Space Race (From BBC)

What Was the Point of the Space Race (From TED Talks)

Use NoodleTools to keep track of your resources. You will be need to be creative with your search terms. If you are finding too few results, think of synonyms or related terms. If you are finding too many results, think of how you might add or take away words to limit your results. Remember to take the time to read what you're referencing and to think about what you're reading: does it seem plausible; does it seem well researched; what are some examples of faked discoveries throughout history and how did those shape our current thinking?