Home - Project X - Technology - LibGuides at Oregon Episcopal School

Databases and other OES Online Resources

AccessScience This link opens in a new window
AccessScience is the online edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year.
Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context via OSLIS This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context supports virtually any curricular need. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop critical thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Exclusive Viewpoint pages bring balance and perspective to every controversy using targeted arguments from recognized subject-matter experts and top journalistic sources.
Gale Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Science In Context is an engaging online resource providing contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more in a single search—Global Issues In Context is updated daily and offers 250 different country topic pages and more than 400 Issue pages.
Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window
Covers the broad expanse of world history from the mid-15th century to the present, featuring thousands of documents, articles, timelines, images, videos, and maps.
World Book Online Reference Center This link opens in a new window
World Book Online is a suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related websites.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
World History In Context reaches back to the ancient world — and forward to today's headlines — to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students.

Book in the Library

Thought by Tim Bayne
ISBN: 9780199601721
Publication Date: 2013-04-05
There is no denying that thinking comes naturally to human beings. But what are thoughts? How is thought realized in the brain? Does thinking occur in public or is it a purely private affair?
Brain Rules by John Medina
ISBN: 9780979777745
Publication Date: 2009-03-10
Most of us have no idea what’s really going on inside our heads. Yet brain scientists have uncovered details every business leader, parent, and teacher should know--like the need for physical activity to get your brain working its best. How do we learn? What exactly do sleep and stress do to our brains? Why is multi-tasking a myth? Why is it so easy to forget--and so important to repeat new knowledge?
How the Brain Works by John D. McCrone; John Gribbin (Editor)
ISBN: 078948420X
Publication Date: 2002-04-12
In this fascinating and lucid account, the author of the groundbreaking Going inside explores the "mechanics" of the mind, re-examines concepts such as memory, intelligence, and personality, and assesses the true nature of consciousness. T
The Brain by Michael O'Shea
ISBN: 9780192853929
Publication Date: 2006-02-16
This is a non-technical introduction to the main issues and findings in current brain research. It gives a sense of how neuroscience addresses questions about the relationship between the brain, and thought, memories, perceptions, and actions. v
Getting Gamers by Jamie Madigan
ISBN: 1442239999
Publication Date: 2015-10-16
Video games are big business. They can be addicting. They are available almost anywhere you go and are appealing to people of all ages. They can eat up our time, cost us money, even kill our relationships. But it's not all bad. This book will show that rather than being a waste of time, video games can help us develop skills, make friends, succeed at work, form good habits, and be happy.
Reality Is Broken by Jane McGonigal
ISBN: 9780143120612
Publication Date: 2011-12-27
A visionary game designer reveals how we can harness the power of games to boost global happiness. With 174 million gamers in the United States alone, we now live in a world where every generation will be a gamer generation. But why, Jane McGonigal asks, should games be used for escapist entertainment alone? In this groundbreaking book, she shows how we can leverage the power of games to fix what is wrong with the real world-from social problems like depression and obesity to global issues like poverty and climate change-and introduces us to cutting-edge games that are already changing the business, education, and nonprofit worlds.
The Innovators by Walter Isaacson
ISBN: 9781476708690
Publication Date: 2014-10-07
The Innovators is Walter Isaacson's revealing story of the people who created the computer and the Internet. It is destined to be the standard history of the digital revolution and an indispensable guide to how innovation really happens. What were the talents that allowed certain inventors and entrepreneurs to turn their visionary ideas into disruptive realities? What led to their creative leaps? Why did some succeed and others fail?
Artificial Intelligence by Stephanie Sammartino McPherson
ISBN: 1512418269
Publication Date: 2017-08-01
The field of artificial intelligence (AI) is booming, with drones, robots, and computers handling tasks that once only humans could perform. Such advances raise challenging questions. Do Watson and other computers really think? Can machines acquire self-awareness? Is AI a promising or a dangerous technology?

Reliable Websites

Video Games/Screen

How Playing the Right Video Games Can Lead to Better Health - An interesting look at active video games with immersive narratives and how they might be beneficial.

Essential Facts About the Video Computer and Video Game Industry - Princeton offers up the Entertainment Software Industry report on video games.

Children's Violent Video Game Play Associated with Increased Physical Aggressiveness - A Dartmouth meta-analysis found these results.

How Technology is Changing the Way Children Think and Focus

5 Ways Technology is Altering Our Brains

How Technology Affects the Way Our Brain Works

The Effects of Technology on the Brain

This is Your Brain Online

Technology's Effect on Our Health

Technology Changes Our Brains But Doesn't Lead to Idiocy

Artificial Intelligence - What exactly is Artificial Intelligence. This Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy offers up a definition.

Using Artificial Intelligence to Engineer Materials' Properties - MIT scientists find many uses for AI.

Artificial Intelligence is Changing the Workforce - A look at all the ways AI is changing the workforce.

Artificial Intelligence: MIT News - MIT News with an AI-focus.

Stanford: One Hundred Year Study on Artificial Intelligence

What is AI? - A Brookings Institution report.

What's Behind JP Morgan Chase's Big Bet on Artificial Intelligence?

Why We Need to Rethink Education in the Artificial Intelligence Age - Brookings Institution report.

How Artificial Intelligence Affects Financial Consumers - Brookings Institution report.

Identifying Artificial Intelligence "Blind Spots."

Other

Passenger Aircraft Efficiency

Fuel Efficiency Trends for New Commercial Aircraft

Designing the Fuel-Efficient Aircraft of the Future

Airline Fleet Fuel Efficiency

Tips

Use NoodleTools to keep track of your resources. You will be need to be creative with your search terms. If you are finding too few results, think of synonyms or related terms. If you are finding too many results, think of how you might add or take away words to limit your results. Remember to take the time to read what you're referencing and to think about what you're reading: does it seem plausible; does it seem well researched; what are some examples of faked discoveries throughout history and how did those shape our current thinking?

Project X - Technology: Home

Databases and other OES Online Resources

Book in the Library

Reliable Websites

Tips