Skip to Main Content

7th Grade History - Civil War: Home

General Civil War Websites

National Museum of American History - Civil War

Smithsonian Institution - Civil War 150

Cornell University Library - Making of America Collection (digital primary sources)

Library of Congress - Civil War

Civil War - American Battlefield Trust

Searching in Databases

Britannica Online
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year.
America's Historical Newspapers
Full-text database of early American newspapers from all 50 states published between 1690 and 1922.
American History Online
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.
World Book Online Reference Center
World Book Online is a suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related websites.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Searchable database that includes full-text articles from ten newspapers.

Searching the Internet - Civilian Life

Santa Clara University Digital Exhibits

National Park Service - The Civilian Experience

Northern Homefront

Southern Homefront - Documenting the American South: UNC

Civil War Homefront

Kent State University Museum - On the Homefront: Civil War Fashion and Domestic Life

Family Life during the Civil War - Encyclopedia Virginia

Women in the Civil War - Digital Public Library of America

Documenting the American South - Duke University (Primary Sources)

Hearts at Home: Southern Women in the Civil War - University of Virginia

Alice Williamson Diary - Duke University Special Collections

Librarian

Searching the Internet - War (Soldiers, Battles, Leaders, Technology, Medicine, Strategy)

Music

More than a Drummer Boy - Musicians in Civil War

Civil War Music - Library of Congress

Medicine

Civil War Medicine - C-SPAN

Life and Limb: the Toll of the American Civil War - National Library of Medicine

Binding Wounds, Pushing Boundaries: African Americans in Civil War Medicine - NLM

Women

In Civil War, Women Fought for Freedom like a Man - NPR

The Women who Fought in the Civil War - Smithsonian Magazine

Women Spies of the Civil War - Smithsonian Magazine

Soldier Life

Black Men in Navy During the Civil War - National Archives

Civil War Soldier in Wild Cat Regiment: Tilton C. Reynolds Papers - LOC Primary Sources

Civil War Soldiers' Stories - LOC

Civil War Soldiers' Experience - UPitt

Life of the Civil War Soldier in the Civil War - ABT

The Military Experience - NPS

Leaders

Of Generals and Soldiers

Civil War Leaders - American Battlefield Trust

Generals of the Union Army - Civil War Encyclopedia

General of the Confederate Army - Civil War Encyclopedia

Strategy

Civil War Strategy - Army War College

Military Strategy in the Civil War - Oxford Research Encyclopedias

Early Mobilization and War - CUNY

Technology and Innovations

How Technology Shaped the Civil War - SciAm

Civil War Innovations - Naval History and Heritage Command

Civil War Innovations - PBS

Battles

Civil War Timeline (with links to battles) - American Battlefield Trust

20 Must-See Battlefields - American Battlefield Trust

Search for Civil War Battles - NPS

Searching the Internet - Slavery (Abolition, Uprisings/Rebellions, Emancipation)

Uprising and Rebellions

Slave Uprisings - PBS

Slave Rebellions and Uprisings - American Battlefield Trust

Slavery as a Cause for the Civil War - NPS

Slave Revolts - Oxford African American Studies Center

A Rebellion to Remember: The Legacy of Nat Turner - Documenting the American South (UNC)

Nat Turner's Rebellion - National Museum of African American History & Culture

Nat Turner's Revolt - Encyclopedia Virginia

Abolition and Anti-Slavery Movements

Abolition and the Civil War - UMich Online Exhibits

Abolition - LOC

Abolitionist Movement - BYU

Abolition - National Geographic

"I Will be Heard!": Prominent Abolitionists - Cornell University

American Anti-Slavery Society - LOC

Anti-Slavery Pamphlet Collection (Primary Sources) - UMass Amherst

Emancipation Proclamation

Abraham Lincoln and Emancipation - LOC

10 Facts: The Emancipation Proclamation - ABT

Emancipation Proclamation: An Introduction - National Museum of African American History & Culture

Emancipation Proclamation - National Archives