Skip to Main Content

History 7 - Native American Resources: Home

General Sites and Sources

Native Hope
Sakari Farms - Educational Programs
100% Women/Native owned Sakari Farms is located in Tumalo, just West of Bend, the heart of Central Oregon. Our farm also houses a unique PNW Tribal Seed Bank dedicated to our regional and national Tribal Members only.
American Indian Digital History Project
Digital History Cooperative founded to recover and preserve rare Indigenous newspapers, photographs, and archival materials from all across Native North America.
Center for Native American and Indigenous Research
The Center for Native American and Indigenous Research (CNAIR) at the APS Library & Museum works with Indigenous communities throughout the Americas and with campus- and community-based scholars in many disciplines and traditions. Its goal is to assist people in finding and utilizing the extensive archival collections at the Library and Museum of the APS in innovative ways that honor Indigenous knowledge, cultivate scholarship, and strengthen languages and cultural traditions.
Edward S. Curtis's The North American Indian Collection
Edward Sheriff Curtis published The North American Indian between 1907 and 1930 with the intent to record traditional Native American cultures. The work comprises twenty volumes of narrative text and photogravure images.
National Museum of the American Indian
A diverse and multifaceted cultural and educational enterprise, the National Museum of the American Indian (NMAI) is an active and visible component of the Smithsonian Institution, the world's largest museum complex. The NMAI cares for one of the world's most expansive collections of Native artifacts, including objects, photographs, archives, and media covering the entire Western Hemisphere, from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego.

Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year.
American History Online This link opens in a new window
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly content on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. history.

Tribes/Nations

Northwest Coast

https://content.lib.washington.edu/aipnw/

https://americanindian.si.edu/exhibitions/infinityofnations/northwest-coast.html

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OIjAR3f9c60

https://www.amnh.org/exhibitions/permanent/northwest-coast

https://nativetribe.info/indigenous-peoples-of-the-pacific-northwest-coast-culture-and-history/

Plateau

https://plateauportal.libraries.wsu.edu/curriculum

https://americanindian.si.edu/exhibitions/infinityofnations/plains-plateau.html

Great Plains

https://americanindian.si.edu/exhibitions/infinityofnations/plains-plateau.html

Southwest

https://utahindians.org/Curriculum/middleSchool.php

https://americanindian.si.edu/exhibitions/infinityofnations/southwest.html

Southeast (including Florida)

https://nativetribe.info/florida-native-american-tribes-a-comprehensive-list/

https://www.trailoffloridasindianheritage.org/regionsmap/

https://floridahistory.org/indians.htm

https://americanindiancoc.org/native-americans-history-in-florida/

Eastern Woodlands (northeast US)

https://dawnlandvoices.org/collections/

https://nipmuc.gov/who-we-are-2/

https://nativenortheastportal.com/

https://www.masshist.org/photographs/nativeamericans/essay.php?entry_id=72

https://collections.americanantiquarian.org/reclaimingheritage/

https://americanindian.si.edu/exhibitions/infinityofnations/woodlands.html

California Intermountain (California + Great Basin)

https://americanindian.si.edu/exhibitions/infinityofnations/california-greatbasin.html

Diet: Farming/Hunting/Gathering

Northwest Coast

https://aihd.ku.edu/foods/northwest.html

https://depts.washington.edu/mbwc/news/article/food-for-thought-revitalizing-indigenous-knowledge-about-healthy-eating

https://americanindian.si.edu/nk360/pnw-history-culture

https://www.redmond.gov/DocumentCenter/View/12598/Student-Research---Presentation-of-Northwest-Native-Foods

https://projects.seattletimes.com/2022/first-foods-native-people-pacific-northwest-preserving/

Plateau

https://aihd.ku.edu/foods/plateau.html

https://native.wsu.edu/2017/10/10/traditional-foods-brought-to-the-plateau-center/

Great Plains

https://aihd.ku.edu/foods/plains.html

http://plainshumanities.unl.edu/encyclopedia/doc/egp.ag.052

https://www.npr.org/sections/thesalt/2016/11/18/502025877/tribes-revive-indigenous-crops-and-the-food-traditions-that-go-with-them

Southwest

https://aihd.ku.edu/foods/southwest.html

https://www7.nau.edu/itep/main/tcc/docs/tribes/tribes_FirstFoods-SW.pdf

Southeast (including Florida)

https://enviroliteracy.org/animals/how-did-native-americans-in-florida-get-food/

https://dos.fl.gov/historical/museums/historical-museums/united-connections/foodways/foodways-of-native-floridians/apalachee-foodways/

https://www.trailoffloridasindianheritage.org/tocobaga-foods/

https://www.legendsofamerica.com/na-seminole/

Eastern Woodlands (northeast US)

https://www.phmc.state.pa.us/portal/communities/archaeology/files/native-american-foodways.pdf

https://food.ebci-nsn.gov/cherokee-foodways/

https://www.wku.edu/kentuckymuseum/education/eaek_docs_2014/eastern_woodland_nativeam.pdf

California Intermountain (California + Great Basin)

https://aihd.ku.edu/foods/california.html

https://aihd.ku.edu/foods/great_basin.html

https://hearstmuseum.berkeley.edu/wp-content/uploads/TeachingKit_CaliforniaIndianFoodAndCulture-1.pdf

https://www.pbssocal.org/shows/tending-the-wild/why-two-california-indian-tribes-are-growing-their-own-food-and-why-it-isnt-easy

Connections to the Natural World

Northwest Coast

Plateau

Great Plains

Southwest

Southeast (including Florida)

Eastern Woodlands (northeast US)

California Intermountain (California + Great Basin)

Art/Culture (clothing, music, traditions, etc.)

Northwest Coast

https://artsandculture.google.com/story/native-american-art-of-the-northwest-coast-bureau-of-indian-affairs/ywWBBqM_vlZQLg?hl=en

https://magazine.washington.edu/feature/surveying-the-native-art-of-the-pacific-northwest/

https://smarthistory.org/reframing-art-history/northern-northwest-coast-art/

Plateau

https://nativetribe.info/plateau-peoples-exploring-american-indian-cultures/

https://www.academia.edu/10799058/Expect_a_Different_Story_Portraying_the_Contemporary_Plateau_By_Hand_through_Memory_Native_Arts_of_the_Columbia_Plateau_The_Doris_Swayze_Bounds_Collection

https://nativeamericans.mrdonn.org/plateau/crafts.html

https://www.gonzaga.edu/-/media/Website/Documents/Academics/College-of-Arts-and-Sciences/Native-American-Studies/NTAS_Indigenous-Plateau-Past-and-Present-PP_May-2021.ashx?la=en&hash=721B4A7EA6445ED8CE59A97DFD36FBE494B783F5

https://americanindian.si.edu/explore/exhibitions/item?id=618

Great Plains

http://plainshumanities.unl.edu/encyclopedia/doc/egp.art.044

https://centerofthewest.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/08/Plains-Indian-Art-Trunk-Curriculum.pdf

https://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/these-native-american-artists-material-message-180958567/

https://www.jstor.org/stable/44683825?seq=1

Southwest

https://nativetribe.info/southwest-native-american-tribes-history-culture-and-traditions/

https://artmuseum.indiana.edu/collections-online/features/africa-oceania-indig-america/tradition-authenticity-native-american-art.php

https://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-online/exhibits/show/native-americans-then-and-now/pueblo-art

https://www.native-languages.org/southwestern.htm

Southeast (including Florida)

https://www.moas.org/WE-NEVER-LEFT--Artists-of-Southeast-Indian-Tribes-6-436.html

https://libguides.southflorida.edu/florida/topics/indingenous

https://www.floridamuseum.ufl.edu/pearsall/

https://guides.library.miami.edu/natart

https://myfloridahistory.org/fhspress/publication/florida-caribbean-native-people-paintings

https://artsandculture.google.com/story/southeastern-artists-bureau-of-indian-affairs/_AVRbo830NXWIQ?hl=en

https://www.uncp.edu/resources/museum-southeast-american-indian

Eastern Woodlands (northeast US)

https://nativetribe.info/american-indian-eastern-woodlands-culture-history-traditions/

https://capeannhistory.org/index.php/who-were-the-people-of-the-eastern-woodlands/

https://www.naaer.hoodmuseum.dartmouth.edu/northeast-woodlands

https://campuspress.yale.edu/yipp/native-american-museums-in-the-northeast/

California Intermountain (California + Great Basin)

https://nahc.ca.gov/native-americans/california-indian-history/

https://californiamuseum.org/exhibitions/signature/california-indians/

https://www.touristsecrets.com/destinations/united-states/california/secrets-of-indigenous-art-in-californias-coso-range/

https://www.parks.ca.gov/?page_id=24096

https://www.pbssocal.org/shows/artbound/indigenous-art-of-california

https://www.firstnations.org/stories/the-art-of-preserving-native-culture/

Social/Family Structure

Northwest Coast

Plateau

Plateau Kinship and Family System: an outline

Great Plains

http://plainshumanities.unl.edu/encyclopedia/doc/egp.na.001

Southwest

https://open.uapress.arizona.edu/read/the-social-organization-of-the-western-apache/section/5140329b-0037-4aaf-bba7-34058e32f15d

https://anthropology.unt.edu/images/anthropology.unt.edu/files/anthropology/anth_3120.pdf

Southeast (including Florida)

Eastern Woodlands (northeast US)

California Intermountain (California + Great Basin)

Beliefs

Northwest Coast

Plateau

Great Plains

Southwest

Southeast (including Florida)

Eastern Woodlands (northeast US)

California Intermountain (California + Great Basin)