LibGuides: Literary Journalism Project: Home

Databases and other OES Online Resources

Below you will find links to databases that the OES libraries subscribe to; all can be accessed both on campus and at home. Most of the databases only require your OES google login for remote access.

Gale Environmental Studies in Context This link opens in a new window

Gale News This link opens in a new window
Provides access to authoritative, reliable digital content from magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference books appropriate for middle- and high-school students and covers a wide range of subjects, including science, history, and literature.

Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more in a single search—Global Issues In Context is updated daily and offers 250 different country topic pages and more than 400 Issue pages.

Gale Health & Wellness This link opens in a new window

Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context via OSLIS This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context supports virtually any curricular need. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop critical thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Exclusive Viewpoint pages bring balance and perspective to every controversy using targeted arguments from recognized subject-matter experts and top journalistic sources.

Gale Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Science In Context is an engaging online resource providing contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.

ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics.

Oregon Resources

Oregon Public Broadcasting
The Oregon face of NPR, OPB has a plethora of articles and broadcasts on stories that range from local to international.
Oregon Historical Society
The Oregon Historical Society has a great collection of manuscripts, photographs, and other historic artifacts connected to Oregon's history.
Multnomah County Library: Historical Oregonian (1861-1987)
You will need a Multnomah County Library card to access this resource. If you don't have a library card and need help accessing this resource, come see Erika in the library.
Multnomah County Library: The Oregonian (1987-Present)
You will need a Multnomah County Library card to access this resource. If you don't have a library card and need help accessing this resource, come see Erika in the library.
Oregon Humanities
Oregon Humanities connects people and communities through conversation, storytelling, and participatory programs to inspire understanding and collaborative change.

Portland Resources

Street Roots
Street Roots is a nonprofit 501(c)3 organization in Portland, Oregon, that publishes a weekly social justice newspaper sold by people experiencing homelessness and poverty to earn an income.
Portland Mercury
Willamette Week
The Skanner
The Asian Reporter
The Portland Observer
Portland Monthly

Finding Books in the Library

OES Upper School Library

If we don't have a book on your subject, check the resources below. Washington County and Multnomah County Public Libraries have much bigger collections than we do, and chances are they will have something on your subject. Still not finding what you need? Check WorldCat for library holdings around the world, and send the citation to Erika, who can order just about anything from Interlibrary Loan.

Research Tips

Use OSLIS Citation Maker to generate citations. Don't forget to save your work!
When searching in databases, frame your search with keywords, not full sentences or questions. Databases aren't Google, and queries need to be structured correctly in order to get the best results.
Too many results? Try narrowing your search by such parameters as date of publication and type of publication.
Not enough results? Try rethinking your question. Brainstorm lists of words and phrases that describe your question, and try different combinations of search terms.
Advanced Search allows you more flexibility in terms of combining distinct search terms.
Put exact phrases in quotes.