LibGuides: The French Revolution: Home

Databases and Other OES Web Based Resources

All of the databases below are accessible using your OES login, with the exception of the online library, Questia. You must have your own login to access Questia; please see Erika for help.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window
Covers the broad expanse of world history from the mid-15th century to the present, featuring thousands of documents, articles, timelines, images, videos, and maps.

ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics.

World History in Context This link opens in a new window
World History In Context reaches back to the ancient world — and forward to today's headlines — to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students.

Books in the Library

The French Revolution by Gary Kates (Editor); Jack Censer (Introduction by)
Call Number: 944.04 F873
ISBN: 9780415358323
Publication Date: 2005-12-22
The French Revolution and Napoleon by Philip Dwyer (Editor); Peter McPhee (Editor)
Call Number: 944.04 F815
ISBN: 0415199085
Publication Date: 2002-08-23
The French Revolution by Laura Mason; Tracey Rizzo
Call Number: 944.04 M399f
ISBN: 9780669417807
Publication Date: 1998-12-21
The French Revolution Sourcebook by John Hardman
Call Number: 944.04 F873h
ISBN: 0340719826
Publication Date: 1998-12-03
The Oxford History of the French Revolution by William Doyle
Call Number: 944.04 D754o
ISBN: 9780199252985
Publication Date: 2003-08-28
A Concise History of the French Revolution by Sylvia Neely
Call Number: 944.04 N379c
ISBN: 9780742534100
Publication Date: 2007-12-28
The Old Regime and the French Revolution by Alexis de Tocqueville; J. P. Mayer (Editor); A. P. Kerr (Editor)
Call Number: 944.04 T632o
ISBN: 9780385092609
Publication Date: 1955-10-01

Reliable Websites

Liberty, Equality, Fraternity: Exploring the French Revolution
A collection of primary source documents connected to the French Revolution, compiled as a collaboration between the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University and the American Social History Project at City University of New York.
Internet History Sourcebooks: The French Revolution
Fordham University's Internet History Sourcebooks compiles open access primary source documents from the depths of the internet so they can be available, for free, to researchers.
Ball State University's French Revolution Pamphlets
The French Revolution Pamphlets digital collection consists of pamphlets produced from 1779 to 1815. Although the French Revolution happened in the decade ranging from 1789 to 1799, this collection of pamphlets documents the time leading up to the revolution through the Napoleonic Wars (1799-1815). Often privately printed due to newspaper censure by the monarchy, the pamphlets were used to disseminate information and ideals concerning nationalism, citizenship, personal freedoms, and social injustice.
French Revolution Digital Archive
The French Revolution Digital Archive (FRDA) is a multi-year collaboration of the Stanford University Libraries and the Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF) to produce a digital version of the key research sources of the French Revolution and make them available to the international scholarly community.
Europeana
The European Union's counterpart to the Digital Public Library of America, Europeana works with thousands of European archives and libraries to over fifty million digitized items.

Research Tips

Use OSLIS Citation Maker to generate citations. Don't forget to save your work!
When searching in databases, frame your search with keywords, not full sentences or questions. Databases aren't Google, and queries need to be structured correctly in order to get the best results.
Too many results? Try narrowing your search by such parameters as date of publication and type of publication.
Not enough results? Try rethinking your question. Brainstorm lists of words and phrases that describe your question, and try different combinations of search terms.
Advanced Search allows you more flexibility in terms of combining distinct search terms.
Put exact phrases in quotes.

Librarian

Erika Jelinek

Email Me

Contact:

503-416-9352